Reviews


16/08/2020

Best Music from Liverpool and Beyonnd

Candy Opera release new single These Days Are Ours The song is a classic slice of epic, widescreen pop music. It is also proof that talent does not disappear when we grow older.

Read More
11/01/2018

Louder Than War

Liverpool’s great lost band, Candy Opera release their first album after 35 years

Read More
21/11/2020

Candy Opera: The Patron Saint of Heartache – album review

Candy Opera have recorded their first new music in nearly 30 years for 2nd album The Patron Saint of Heartache. It turns out it was worth the wait.

Read More
12/11/2021

Near Perfect Pitch

Near Perfect Pitch - Episode 69 (February 4th. 2018) - Candy Opera … The Fat Lady Has Finally Sung!

Read More
13/02/2018

Album Review - 45 Revolutions Per Minute by Candy Opera (2018) (Firestation Records)

A Victorian propensity to invade less affluent countries coupled with an 'island race' mentality that means over half the population voted to leave Europe and face economic ruin rather than have 'Johnny Foreigner' continue to dictate how bendy our bananas must be, ensures the British remain the most culturally insular of races.

Read More
22/02/2018

SECOND TIME AROUND

t’s a Saturday morning in July in 1983, the sun has risen, I’m in Harum Records in Muswell Hill, London N10 and the hangover is kicking in like hell. We were at the Dominion last night watching Nick Heyward and The Bluebells, managed to get last orders in at the pub across the road, caught a lock-in then walked home.

Read More
04/10/2018

Product Magazine

As Candy Opera release their debut album after 35 years in the wilderness, Neil Cooper talks about life in the 1980s with Liverpool’s great lost band

Read More
23/02/2018

With Yesterday In All The Right Places: A Quick Review Of That Fabulous New Candy Opera Reissue

I suppose there's no harm in adding my voice to the swelling online-chorus of voices crowing about the release of 45 Revolutions Per Minute from Candy Opera. The album, out as of Friday officially from Firestation Records, is largely fantastic, and the sort of thing that is rightly going to get called a "revelation", especially since so little of the output of Liverpool's Candy Opera ever saw the light of day, or got any sort of big attention, back in the early Eighties.

Read More
23/02/2018

Candy Opera – Sophistipop Gem Unearthed

At the start of the year somebody posted a track of Candy Opera in the Sophistipop Lounge, which went almost completely unnoticed but not entirely. I picked it up, and buzz frenzy around them ensued. At first listen, “What a Way to Travel” brings that whole era back to me: the dreamy cloud I was on, whilst walking the streets with my walkman in the 80s’, listening to Prefab Sprout and Style Council. The breezy vocals, crisp synths, the sparkling jazzmasters that carried me off to visions of blonde disheveled hair, and sleek suits at Cafe Blue.

Read More
18/08/2018

Shiiine On First Show Promotion

Cult Liverpool band Candy Opera have announced their first live performance in more than 25 years. The band will take to the stage on Saturday 18th August 2018 for a homecoming show at Liverpool’s Parr Street, Studio 2. Support on the night comes from fellow Liverpool legend Edgar Jones and Mel Bowen, frontman of Mercury 13 in a gig presented by Shiiine On.

Read More
11/12/2018

Everything Indie Over 40

“Don’t you need days like these?” A few months ago, Steve from EIO40 sent me a message saying he had an idea. He had booked in for this year’s Shiiine On Festival at Butlins Minehead and would I like to come along and we would act as roving reporters for the weekend?

Read More